
  
 

   
  

 
 

 

  
     

   

       
       

  

      

 

          
  

        

    

  

 
 

    

  

 
    

   
    

     

  

   

  

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 
Fax: 651-366-3718 

NOTE: Must be completed ANNUALLY. 

HOUSEHOLD GOODS MOVER PERMIT APPLICATION 
**Please comp lete Step s 1-11 pr ior  to  su bmitt ing you r app l i cat ion for  processing** 

(1) REASON FOR FILING (Mark only one) 

NEW APPLICATION ($150): ☐ Update/Changes (No Fee): ☐ 
NOTE: Cab Cards $75 per vehicle annually (requires vehicle registration application) 

(Please make check payable to The Commissioner of Transportation) 

(2) NAME OF BUSINESS 

Name of Company (as it appears with the Secretary of State): Doing Business As (DBA) Name: 

(3) TYPE OF BUSINESS ENTITY (check business type) 

Sole Proprietorship ☐ Partnership ☐ Corporation ☐ 
Limited Liability 
Partnership (LLP) ☐ 

Limited Liability Co. (LLC) ☐ 

(4) BUSINESS IDENTIFICATION NUMBER(S) 
Minnesota Business ID# USDOT# ICC# MnDOT# 

(5) INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR DAILY BUSINESS OPERATIONS 

Print Name: 
Title: 

Contact Phone Number: Alternate Phone Number/Cell: 

Fax Number: Email Address: 

(6) MAILING ADDRESS 
Street: City: State: Zip: 

(7) PHYSICAL ADDRESS (Where records are kept) 
Street: City: State: Zip: 

Is the applicant a foreign corporation authorized to transact business in Minnesota? YES: ☐ NO: ☐ 

NOTE: If you answered Yes, please provide the name and address of the resident agent: 

Resident Agent Name: Address: 

6/27/17 



  
 

   
  

 
 

 

       
    

   

    

   

    

   

    

   

    

   

    

      
 

    
 

    
     

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 
Fax: 651-366-3718 

(8) OWNERSHIP (List names of all corporate directors and officers, general and limited partners, limited liability company 
board members, or owners of the business. Attach additional sheets if necessary) 

Name: Title: Phone: 

Street: City: State: Zip: 

Name: Title: Phone: 

Street: City: State: Zip: 

Name: Title: Phone: 

Street: City: State: Zip: 

Name: Title: Phone: 

Street: City: State: Zip: 

Name: Title: Phone: 

Street: City: State: Zip: 

INSURANCE COVERAGE – No person may provide Household Goods Mover services until in compliance with proper 
insurance requirements. 

(9) FORM E – Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance 
(Minnesota Statutes, section 221.141) 

FORM H – Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance 
(Minnesota Statutes, section 221.121, subdivision 4) 

6/27/17 



  
 

   
  

 
 

 

     

 

  

 
      

    
    

   

       
  

 

     

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 
Fax: 651-366-3718 

(10) EVIDENCE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION (ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION) 

We cannot issue a certificate until you have completed the “Certificate of Compliance, Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law” form. 

(11) SIGNATURE (PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING THIS APPLICATION) 

By signing this application, you are stating you are age 18 or older; you have read and understand this application; the information 
provided is true and correct to the best of your knowledge; you are authorized to sign this application; and the person, partnership, 
corporation, LLP or LLC HAS READ and UNDERSTANDS all laws and rules pertaining to the issuance of the type of authority being 
requested. You WILL be held accountable for adhering to all laws and rules. You are required to complete a NEW application if ANY 
of the information contained on this application changes. 

I, the undersigned applicant or applicant official, do hereby state that the above information is true and correct to the best of 
my knowledge and belief. 

Signature: 

Print Name: Print Title: Date: 

Return your completed application to:   

Minnesota Department of Transportation  
Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations  
395 John Ireland Boulevard,  MS 420, Rm 153  
Saint Paul, MN 55155-1800 

6/27/17 



  

  

        
  

      
     

      
        

      
   

   

    

  

 
     

   
 

   

      
  

  
               

                 
 
      

 
 

  
    

   

  

         
  

    

    

Certificate  of Compliance  
Minnesota  Workers’  Compensation  Law 

This form must be completed by the business license applicant. 

Print in ink or type  
Minnesota Statutes § 176.182 requires every state and local licensing agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or 
permit to operate a business in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers' 
compensation insurance coverage requirement of Minn. Stat. chapter 176. If the required information is not provided or is falsely 
stated, it shall result in a $2,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. 
A valid workers’ compensation policy must be kept in effect at all times by employers as required by law. 
License or certificate number (if applicable) Business telephone number Alternate telephone number 

Business name (Provide the legal name of the business entity. If the business is a sole proprietor or partnership, provide the owner’s 
name(s), for example John Doe, or John Doe and Jane Doe.) 

DBA (“doing business as” or “also known as” an assumed name), if applicable 

Business address (must be physical street address, no P.O. boxes) City State ZIP code 

County Email address 

You must complete number 1 or 2 below. 
Note: You must resubmit this form to the authority issuing your license if any of the information you have provided changes. 

1. I have a workers’ compensation insurance policy. 
Insurance company name (not the insurance agent) 

Policy number Effective date Expiration date 

I am self-insured for workers’ compensation. (Attach a copy of the authorization to self-insure from the Minnesota 
Department of Commerce; see www.mn.gov/commerce/industries/insurance/licensing/self-insurance.) 

2. I am not required to have workers’ compensation insurance because:
I only use independent contractors and do not have employees. (See Minn. Stat. § 176.043 for trucking and messenger 
courier industries; Minn. Stat. § 181.723, subd. 4, for building construction; and Minnesota Rules chapter 5224 for other 
industries.) 
I do not use independent contractors and have no employees. (See Minn. Stat. § 176.011, subd. 9, for the definition 
of an employee.) 
I use independent contractors and I have employees who are not required to be covered by the workers’ 
compensation law. (Explain below.) 
I only have employees who are not required to be covered by the workers’ compensation law. (Explain below.) (See 
Minn. Stat. § 176.041 for a list of excluded employees.) 

Explain why your employees are not required to be covered 

I certify the information provided on this form is accurate and complete. If I am signing on behalf of a business, I certify I am 
authorized to sign on behalf of the business. 

Print name  

Applicant signature (required) Title Date 

If you have questions about completing this form or to request this form in Braille, large print or audio, call (651) 284-5032 or 
1-800-342-5354.

LIC 04 (11/16) 



 
 
 
 
 

 

   
    

  

     

   

    

    

 
     

       

 
 

  
  

 
  

 
   

   
      

    
 

 
   

 

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 

Household Goods Mover Permit Application Instructions 
Minnesota Statutes, section 221.121, Information required 

**Please complete Steps 1-12 prior to submitting your application for processing** 

(1) Reason for filing-

New Application ($150 fee) – check this box if: 

• You are a new Household Goods (HHG) mover. 

Update/Changes ($0 fee) – check this box if: 

• You currently have an active HHG mover permit, but are making changes to the file. 

(2) Name of Business-
Name of Company - the name of the company that will appear on your Household Goods Mover permit. 

Doing Business As (DBA) – If doing business under an assumed name or fictitious name as filed with the Secretary of 
State. 

(3) Type of Business Entity-
Indicate whether the applicant's business is a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
partnership, or limited liability company. 

(4) Business Identification Number(s)-
Applicant must provide the company’s Minnesota business identification number and the identification numbers, if 
any, assigned to the company by the United States Department of Transportation, the former Interstate Commerce 
Commission, or the Environmental Protection Agency. 

(5) Individual Responsible for Daily Business Operations-
Name of individual that is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the business. This will be the contact person 
with whom MnDOT will conduct business. 

(6) Applicant’s Mailing Address-
Applicant’s mailing address and business phone number. This is the address to which MnDOT will send 
correspondence. 

(7) Physical Address-
If different from (6), this is the location in Minnesota where the records will be available for inspection and copying. 

Foreign Corporation – A corporation that is organized under the laws of a state other than Minnesota that transacts 
business in Minnesota, is classified as a foreign corporation under Minnesota law. Please check the yes if your 
corporation is foreign and if you are authorized to transact business in Minnesota. If you indicate “Yes” please provide 
the name and address of the authorized registered agent. 

(8) OWNERSHIP-
List name(s) titles and addresses of partners, corporate officers, names of corporate directors and officers, general 
partners, limited liability company board members, or owners of the applicant’s business. 

1/20/17 



 
 
 
 
 

 

      

 
 

   
   

 
  

  

     
 

  
  

   
 

 
 

  
   

 
   

 
   

    

  

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 

(9) Insurance Coverage (Your insurance company must submit a Form E & Form H)-

File a Form E (sent from your insurance company’s corporate office) 
Have your insurance company file and maintain required amount of insurance: not less than $100,000/$300,000 
public liability; $50,000 property damage 

File a Form H 
In addition to the Form E, have your insurance company file a cargo certificate of insurance or cargo bond in the 
amount of $50,000. A cargo certificate of insurance must conform to Form H, Uniform Motor Cargo Certificate of 
Insurance, described in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 1023. A cargo bond must conform to Form J, 
described in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 1023. The cargo certificate of insurance or cargo bond must be 
issued in the full and correct name of the person, corporation, or partnership to whom the household goods mover 
permit is issued and whose operations are being insured. 

Your insurance company (not local agent) must submit Form E & Form H directly to our office, certifying that you have 
the proper coverage for your Household Goods (HHG) Mover permit. No other certificate of insurance will be 
accepted. 

Have your insurance company mail Forms E & H to: 
Minnesota Department of Transportation 
Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle – Credentialing Unit 
395 John Ireland Boulevard MS 420, Rm 153 
St Paul MN 55155-1800 

Or fax: 
(651) 366-3718 

(10) Evidence of Minnesota Workers’ Compensation-
Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182 requires that every state or local licensing agency withhold the issuance or 
renewal of a license or permit to operate a business in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of 
compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirement of section 176.181, subdivision 2, by 
providing the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and dates of coverage or the permit to self-insure. 
The commissioner of Labor and Industry shall assess a penalty to the employer of $2,000 payable to the commissioner 
for deposit in the assigned risk safety account, if the information is not reported or is falsely reported. 

(11) Signature-

An application must be signed only by a corporate officer, general partner, limited liability company board member, 

or sole proprietor. 

Note: Within 90 days of being issued your HHG Permit, you must: 

• Complete Initial Motor Carrier Contact (IMCC). 

1/20/17 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=176.181#stat.176.181.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=221.161&year=2013
http://www.dot.state.mn.us/cvo/imccElearning.html


  
 

  
  

 

 

  
 

 
 

 

   

 

  
 

  

 

      
 

 

  
 

  
 

 

   
  

  
   

  
   

 
 

   
  

  

 

  
 
 

    
   

 

 

       

      

          

        

   

 

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 

New/Renewal Vehicle Registration Application  
ALL PAGES YOU SUBMIT  MUST BE COMPLETE  

(1)  Legal Company Name  

DBA  
Business Address  

City, State, ZIP  

MnDOT#:  USDOT#  

NOTE:  
A current vehicle inspection report for each vehicle listed  under Special  
Transportation Service  (STS), Motor Carrier of Passengers (Pass), and  
Limousine  (Limo) authority  must be provided with  this application.   
Household Goods (HHG)  and  Building Mover (BHM) authority are exempt  
from this inspection report requirement.  

(Please  see instruction page for vehicle registration requirements)  

(2)Action 
Add 
Delete 
Transfer 
Renew 



(3) Vehicle Year & Make 

REQUIRED 



(4) Unit 
Number 



(5) Vehicle Identification Number  (VIN) 

REQUIRED 



(6) State 



(7) License Plate 
Number 

REQUIRED 



(8) Number of 
passengers the 
vehicle is designed to 
transport 

REQUIRED 



(9) STS Providers indicate the 
number of WC securements 
in the vehicle in the "WC" 
box; and, an "X" in the "S" 
box if the vehicle carries 
stretchers; and, an “X” if the 
vehicle is a Protected 
Transport vehicle 

(10) List the authority type per 
vehicle and the required fee 
for each vehicle below. 

(11) 

Total Fees 
Due Per 
Vehicle 

WC S PT Authority 
Type Fee Late 

Fee 

# of 
(12) 10-Day Temporary Cards (Passenger and Household Goods Carriers Only) X $  5.00 

(13) Floater Cab Cards (Household Goods, Passenger & BHM Only) X $100.00 

(14) SUBTOTALS from additional pages (zero if no additional pages) (Manually enter the totals from additional pages here) 

(15) TOTAL AMOUNT DUE.  We accept the following forms of payment:  checks (made payable to  Commissioner of Transportation); Cash; Credit Cards allowed only in person 

Signature: Title: Date: 

1/20/17 



  
 

  
  

 

 

 
 

        
  

                          
 
   

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
   

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 
  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
   

  
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 
  

  
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

   
  

  
   

  
   

 
 

 
     

  
  

 
  

 
 

 
 

    
   

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

              

    

    

 
 

               

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 

Legal Company Name: MnDOT#: Date: 

(Continued) Page of 

(2) Action 
Add 
Delete 
Transfer 
Renew 



(3) Vehicle Year & Make 

REQUIRED 



(4) Unit 
Number 



(5) Vehicle Identification Number  (VIN) 

REQUIRED 



(6) State 



(7) License Plate 
Number 

REQUIRED 



(8) Number of passengers 
the vehicle is designed 
to transport 

REQUIRED 



(9) STS Providers indicate the 
number of WC securements 
in the vehicle in the "WC" 
box; and, an "X" in the "S" 
box if the vehicle carries 
stretchers; and, an “X” if the 
vehicle is a Protected 
Transport vehicle 

(10) List the authority type per 
vehicle and the required fee 
for each vehicle below. 

(11) 

Total Fees 
Due Per 
Vehicle 

WC S PT Authority 
Type Fee Late Fee 

****If you nave more vehicles, provide additional pages**** 

(16) PAGE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE:  (Transfer this amount to line 14, column 11 of page 1 ‘SUBTOTAL’) 

Signature: Title: Date: 

1/20/17 



  
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

   
  

         
           

   
    

    
    

      
     

  
   

          

    
      

     
    

      
          

          
   

        
    

    
  

 
       

        
 

         
     

     
  

   

Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations 
395 John Ireland Blvd. 

Room 153, Mail Stop 420 
St. Paul, MN 55155 

Phone: 651-215-6330 

New/Renewal Vehicle Registration Application  
ALL PAGES YOU SUBMIT MUST BE COMPLETE 

For Motor Carrier of Passengers, Limousine and Special Transportation Services Providers, this preprinted renewal is the only notice you will receive to renew your vehicle 
registrations. The vehicles listed on the form are the vehicles currently registered. 

THE LATE FEES DO NOT APPLY TO LIMOUSINE DECALS, ST
 

S DECALS, OR  BUILDING HOUSE MOVER CAB CARDS  

1) Enter or verify the LEGAL company name (name you have registered with the Secretary of State), Doing Business As (DBA) name (if any), and BUSINESS address of applicant. 
NOTE: If the address has changed, you must file a change of address form; and you must also have your insurance company file an updated Form E certificate of insurance. 
Enter or verify your Minnesota DOT Number (MnDOT #) and your US DOT Number in the appropriate box. 

2) Action. If you are adding (A) a new vehicle to your fleet; deleting (D) a vehicle from your fleet (draw a line through it); transferring (T) the cab card to a new vehicle (LIMOUSINE 
and STS decals CANNOT be transferred to another vehicle); or, (R) renewing the vehicle registration, indicate the action here. 

3) Enter or Verify the Year and Make of each vehicle you wish to register. 
4) (If Applicable) Enter or Verify Vehicle Unit Number: This is a number assigned by you. It can be up to 4 letters or numbers. 
5) VIN: Enter or Verify the Complete Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). 
6) State: Verify or enter the two letter STATE abbreviation that the vehicle is registered in. 
7) License Plate Number: List the License Plate Number on the vehicle. (LM plates are ONLY transferable between vehicles in your name). 
8) Passengers: Motor Carrier of Passenger and Limousines must list the number of passengers the vehicle is designed to transport including the driver. (Your application will be 

rejected without this number). 
9) WC: For Special Transportation Services (STS) Providers, indicate how many wheel chair securements are in the vehicle. 

S: For Special Transportation Services (STS) Providers, place an ‘X’ in the column if the vehicle carries stretchers. 
PT: For Special Transportation Services (STS) Providers, place an ‘X’ in the column if the vehicle is certified as a “protected transport” vehicle. 

10) AUTHORITY Type: List the Authority Type, i.e. Pass, STS, Limo, HHG, BHM 
Motor Carrier of Passengers Special Transportation Service Decals Limousine Decals Household Goods Cab Cards Building Mover Cab Cards 
$75 per vehicle $45 per vehicle $80 per vehicle $75 per vehicle $10 per vehicle 

LATE FEE: For HHG or Motor Carrier Passenger Authority ONLY … If your application is late (beyond expiration of your current cab cards) enter $5.00 per late vehicle. 
11) Total Fees Due Per Vehicle: Add the fees from the FEE box and the LATE FEE Box and enter it in this column. 
12) 10-Day Temporary:  If you are a Household Goods Carrier or a Passenger Carrier, enter the number desired. Multiply by $5.00 and enter the total in column 11 
13) Floater Cab Cards: Household Goods, Passenger & Building House Movers. If you are purchasing "Floater Cab Cards", multiple numbered desired by $100.00. Place the total 

in column 11 (You MUST have at least one vehicle registered on your authority. YOU CANNOT operate only on a FLOATER) 
14) SUBTOTALS:  Total Fees Due from additional pages.  If no additional pages, enter zero “0” in this cell. 
15) TOTAL AMOUNT DUE:  Total all fees listed in column 11 for vehicles. 
16) PAGE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE: Use this only when additional pages are needed for registering the company’s vehicles.  Transfer this amount to Line 14, Column 11 of Page 1 

of the Renewal/New Vehicle Registration Application. The form must be signed by Corporate Officer, General Partner, LLC Board Member, or Sole Proprietor. 
If you need additional pages, please visit our webpage at: http://www.dot.state.mn.us/cvo/credentials.html.  Or you may call our office at 651-215-6330 for additional pages. 
• MnDOT, OFCVO Inspectors are the only inspectors authorized to complete the required annual inspection for Limousines and STS vehicles. 
• Motor Carriers of Passenger: MnDOT, OFCVO Inspectors & DPS Certified Inspectors are authorized to complete the required annual inspection. 
• PASS, LIMO & STS:  Please include a copy of your most current vehicle inspection report (for each vehicle) along with your vehicle registration application. 

1/20/17 
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